Southern Region AAAE Report Beth Wilson – Southern AAAE President

SOUTHERN REGION CONFERENCE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR AGRICULTURAL EDUCATION

2010 HOST STATES: OKLAHOMA AND ALABAMA

February 6-9, 2010 Wyndham Orlando Resort, Orlando Florida

Southern Association of Agricultural Scientists (SAAS) Agricultural Education Division Officers

President and Conference Co-Chair: Craig Edwards, Oklahoma State University

Co-Chairs: Shane Robinson, Penny Pennington-Weeks Oklahoma State University, Brian Parr, Auburn University

Vice-President: George Wardlow, University of Arkansas Past President: Dennis Duncan, University of Georgia

American Association for Agricultural Education (AAAE) Southern Region Officers

President: Beth Wilson, North Carolina State University Vice-President: Todd Brashears, Texas Tech University Secretary: John Ricketts, University of Georgia

Participation

A total of 118 members were registered for the conference. 48 papers were submitted and 31 were accepted for an approval rate of 65%.

Awards and Recognition

Outstanding Young Member: Brian Myers, The University of Florida

Distinguished Teaching:

Barry Croom, North Carolina State University

Outstanding Agricultural Educator:

James Lindner, Texas A&M University

Distinguished Research Award:

Todd Brashears, Texas Tech University

Mystery Speaker:

Randol G. Waters, The University of Tennessee

Outstanding Research Paper Presentations

2010 Outstanding Research Presentation Award – Faculty Division

1st Place Paper Presentation

Feasibility of using the Modified Matrix Analysis as a Method for Developing Workshop Content *Mark Russell, Todd Brashears, Jon Ulmer, Texas Tech University*

1st Runner-Up Paper Presentation

Analyzing the Attitudes Of Agricultural Education Teachers On Diversity Inclusion In Secondary Agricultural Education Programs Douglas D. LaVergne, West Virginia University Alvin Larke Jr., Chanda Elbert, Texas A&M University Wash A. Jones, Prairie View A&M University

2nd Runner -Up Paper Presentation

Effective Teaching: An Investigation of Award Winning Faculty Instructors *Lucas D. Maxwell, Stacy K. Vincent, Anna L. Ball, University of Missouri*

2010 Outstanding Research Presentation Award - Graduate Division

1st Place Paper Presentation

Societal Impacts of Leadership Development in College Students: The Interaction of Motivation, Political Skill and Gender *Gregory T. Gifford, Allison H. Britton, Andrea Lauren Andrews, University of Florida*

1st Runner-Up Paper Presentation

Agriscience Teachers' Concern Profiles for Content Area Reading Strategies Anna J. Warner, Agriscience Teacher Hereford High School Brian E. Myers, University of Florida

2nd Runner -Up Paper Presentation

Identifying Outcomes from Participation in a Cooperative Extension County Program Review *Amy Harder, Robert Strong, University of Florida*

Outstanding Research Posters

Faculty Category
Innovative Idea

1st Place Recruiting Future Agricultural Education Students into the Teaching Profession: The

Development of an AGED CDE.

Mandy Jo Campbell & Shane Robinson

Oklahoma State University

2nd Place Transforming Education in Agriculture for a Changing World

Kirby Barrick

University of FLorida

3rd Place Blogging in the Classroom: Three Pedagogical Approaches to Using Blogs for

Reflection.

Greg Gifford, Nicole Stedman & Karen Cannon

University of FLorida

Research

1st Place A Model for Improving Faculty Instruction in Colleges of Agricultural & Environmental

Sciences.

Jason Peake, Diana King, Brian Parr

Oklahoma State University

2nd Place Tips from the Trenches: Teaching Advice for Beginning Academics.

Kelsey Hall & Courtney Meyers

Texas Tech University

3rd Place Perceptions of Instructional Methods in Biofuel Education of Secondary Students.

Clayton Salle, Don Edgar & Donald Johnson

University of Arkansas

Graduate Student Category

Innovative Idea

1st Place Using Farm Tours to Enhance the Graduate Student Experience in Agriculture Education.

Katie Abrams, Andrew Thoron,& Rochelle Strickland

University of Florida

2nd Place Using Q-methodology to Measure Student Teacher Perceptions while Interning:

Implications for Formative Assessment. Sheyenne Krysher & Shane Robinson

Oklahoma State University

3rd Place An Evaluation of Hurricane Ike Recovery: A Collaboration Opportunity for Extension

Evaluation.

Scott Cummings, Billy McKim, Paul Pope, Shannon Degenhart

Texas A & M University

Research

1st Place Identifying the Preferred Leadership Style of Secondary Agricultural Educators.

John Hall and Gary Briers Texas A & M University

2nd Place Characteristics of Missouri Agricultural Mechanics Programs: A Generational Review.

Ryan Saucier, Robert Leon Schumacher

University of Missouri

3rd Place Understanding the Intended Outcomes and Impacts of Agricultural Leadership

Development Programs.

Rochelle Strickland, Hannah Carter, Amy Harder, Grady Roberts Allen Wysocki

University of Florida

New Elected Officers

Tim Murphy – President, VP of AAAE 5/12-5/12

Jason Peake – VP 5/10-5/12

David Jones – Secretary 5/12-5/12

Jim Flowers – JAE Editing Managing Board 1/1/2011-12/31/2012

K. Dooley, T. Irani, J. Rayfield - Research Committee 5/10-5/12

A. Harder, J. Williams, M. Kistler – Professional Dev. 5/10-5/12

J. Peake, J. Ramsey, B. Wilson – Member Services 5/10-5/12

J. Bruce, D. Jones, W. Warner – Program Improvement 5/10-5/12

J. Ricketts – National FFA Board of Directors Consultant, 1/2011-12/31/2013